Best Automatic Litter Box for Large Cats (2026): Open-Top vs. Wide Opening
Published manufacturer specifications indicate varying entry openings and cat weight ratings: Litter-Robot 5 lists a 15.75" x 15.75" portal for cats up to 30 lbs, Neakasa M1 lists a 13.86" entry step height for cats up to 33 lbs, and PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 lists a 10.51" x 10.74" portal for cats up to 22 lbs.
Quick Picks: Large Breed Overview
-
Partner Link (May Earn Commission)
Open-Top Design for Unrestricted Space: Neakasa M1 (US listing: M1 Plus) — Open-top basin with 13.86" entry step height accommodating cat weights up to 33 lbs. -
Reference Benchmark (No Commission)
Wide-Portal Enclosed Reference: Litter-Robot 5 (Whisker) — Enclosed rotating globe with a 15.75" x 15.75" entry opening, accommodating cat weights from 3 to 30 lbs. Included strictly as an uncompensated reference standard.
1. Entry Dimensions & Interior Clearance Considerations
Entry dimensions and interior clearance determine how larger cats enter an automatic appliance:
- Enclosed rotating globes and cylinders specify fixed portal dimensions (ranging from 10.51" x 10.74" to 15.75" x 15.75").
- Open-top sifting basin designs feature an open upper perimeter with published entry step heights (such as 13.86").
2. Large Breed Dimension Comparison (3 Models)
| Feature | Neakasa M1 (US listing: M1 Plus) | Litter-Robot 5 (Whisker) | PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 (PETKIT) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Form Factor | Open-Top Sifting Basin | Enclosed Rotating Globe | Enclosed Rotating Cylinder |
| Opening Dimensions | Entry height 13.86"; width/depth not stated | 15.75" x 15.75" | 10.51 x 10.74 in; entrance height 10.03 in |
| Stated Cat Weight Limits | 2.2–33 lbs | 3–30 lbs, up to 5 cats | 3.3–22 lbs |
| Waste Bin Capacity | 11.23L bin; about 14 days for one cat | Up to 10 days (one cat); volume not stated | 8L bin; up to 17 days (one cat) |
| Safety Sensor Architecture | Infrared + 4 weight sensors* | Multiple lasers + weight sensor technology (Class 1 laser product) | 12 integrated safety sensors |
| Stated Sound Level (dB) | 50 dB | Not stated by manufacturer* | 35 dB |
| Manufacturer Warranty | US/Canada: 1-year limited; EU/UK: 2-year | 1 year included; optional 3-year plan listed at $149 | 2 years (from image alt text; terms not on page) |
| Footprint / Dimensions | Not stated by manufacturer (22.81 lbs empty) | 22" x 27" footprint, 29.9" high; 28.7 lbs empty | 25.86 x 21.18 x 23.74 in |
| Pricing (Starting / MSRP) | $379.99 (M1 Plus)* | As low as $799 (Litter-Robot 5 Pro: as low as $899, adds dual camera) | $499.99 sale (regular $599.99) |
| Action Button | Coming soon | Coming soon | Coming soon |
Primary Manufacturer Source Links:
- Whisker: Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Official Product Page
- Neakasa: Neakasa M1 Official Product Page
- PETKIT: PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 Official Product Page
Verification & Notes: Specs read from manufacturer pages on Oct 9, 2026.
• Neakasa M1 Price: The US listing read was the M1 Plus at $379.99 (regular $549.99); standard M1 price not shown.
• Neakasa M1 Sensors: Infrared count inconsistent on manufacturer page (5 vs 6 sets).
• Litter-Robot 5 Sound: dB not stated by manufacturer; page notes QuietSift technology minimizes noise.
Affiliate Disclosure: Links to Neakasa and PETKIT are partner links that may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you. Litter-Robot 5 is included strictly as an uncompensated reference standard.